Your browser is unsupported and may have security vulnerabilities! Upgrade to a newer browser to experience this site in all it's glory.
Skip to main content
GEM Awards July 14

Our STAR and GEM Awards honour staff who shone and sparkled brightly in 22/23

We marked the end of another academic year at York College & University Centre this afternoon with our annual GEM and STAR Awards ceremony.

Principal Lee Probert handed out the awards and also gave a speech that looked back on an eventful year, encompassing the challenges presented by an Ofsted inspection and a bomb scare.

Lee also stressed the wonderful work carried out by our staff to help students continue to fulfil their maximum potential in a safe and inclusive learning environment on Sim Balk Lane.

We would like to congratulate all of the 200-plus staff members who were nominated for an award and make special acknowledgment to Lynne Mountford and Brian Clay, who were both recognised with 35-year Long Service Awards.

The full list of awards winners was:

10-Year Long Service Award: Graeme Butcher, Paul Harrison, John Wray, Caroline Hudson, Sian Mantovani, Tim Stephenson, Steve Atkin, Neil Parry, Katka Trory, Martin Atkinson, Camile Kennedy.

15-Year Long Service Award: Kelly Lee, Ruth McKelvey, Karen Foster, Sandra Hunt, Emma Bowers, Leone Bentley, Mandy Hardy, June Agnew, Jill Lister, Alison Armstrong.

20-Year Long Service Award: Carole Rutter, Michelle Neryd, Andy Higgs, Alan Bates.

25-Year Long Service Award: Andy Alexander.

35-Year Long Service Award: Lynne Mountford, Brian Clay.

STAR Award winners: Dav Doone, Charlotte Calder, Pam Sutherland, Kelly Lee, Nikki Hill, Shvonne Harland, Jo Drever-Smith, Kevin Pratt.

GEM Award winners - Top of the Class Award (Success): Emma Heathcote, Bethan Read, Charlotte Calder, Ruth Mayhew.

Dare to Dream Award (Ambition): Clare Kirton, Sharon Barrington, Patrick Wilson.

Total Respect Award (Respect): Dale Osborne, Gemma Thomas.

Consummate Carer Award (Care): Heather Sherman, Mike Tansey, Matthew McMinn.

Open Category Award: Chris Murphy, Jill Tweddle, Andy Davis, Carole Rutter.

Health & Safety Champion: Daniel Dickson.

Supporting Student Health and Wellbeing Award: Jane Mitchell, Nigel Ellwood.

Supporting Staff Health and Wellbeing Award: Emma Bexon, Emily Grimes.

How2 Champion of Champions: Tom Webster.

Collaborative Champions: Jill Tweddle and Richard Lacey.

Team "All Rounder" Award: Repographics Team, Student Engagement Team, Apprenticeship Team.