Your browser is unsupported and may have security vulnerabilities! Upgrade to a newer browser to experience this site in all it's glory.
Skip to main content
Screenshot 2024 05 22 101805

Celebrating Hardwork and Success with our REACH Awards 2021

A Level, vocational and apprenticeship students who excelled in the 2020/21 academic year, were celebrated last night at York College’s first REACH Awards Evening.

The new REACH Awards follow the College’s Core Values; Ambition, Care, Respect and Success, and stands for Rewarding Excellence and Celebrating Hardwork.

Lee Probert, Chief Executive & Principal said, “Achieving an award in any year is an achievement to be proud of. Achieving an award in an academic year fraught with lockdowns, local and national restrictions and whilst studying at least part of their course online is something students should be phenomenally proud of.

“Over the last 18months students have shown resilience, creativity and resolve. These are characteristics which will stand them in good stead for the future, alongside their academic achievements.”

Businesses from the region sponsored many of the 13 awards presented at the special ceremony, held virtually. Sponsors included Flamingo Land, NIMBUS Health Care, Little Green Rascals nursery, The Grand, The Chapter of York (York Minster), Betty’s & Taylors Group and Simpson (York), MIND York and Higher York.

REACH Awards 2021

REACH Awards 2021 Winners

Principal’s Award

Liffy Wilson

Governor’s Award
Yasmin Walker and Helena Coughlin

Star Student of the Year
Vocational: Max Evans
A Level: Amy Woollen
Foundation English/Maths: Sophie Lymath

L.I.A.M Awards
Lily Christlow and Beth Lingard

A Level, Vocational and T Level Award Winners
Outstanding Achievement Award
Aimee Dawson

Most Determined Student Award
Lara Simpson

Inclusivity/Student Role Model Award
Leon McKnight

Highly Commended – Mia Edson

Contribution to College Life/Community Award
Emma Downing
Highly Commended – Chloe Carmicheal

Progression Award
Ryan Bennett
Highly Commended – Daniel Barker

Apprenticeship Award Winners
Outstanding Achievement Award

Morgan McGowan

Most Determined Student Award
Zoe Clarke

Inclusivity/Student Role Model Award
Liam Davies

Contribution to College Life/Community Award

Olivia Wileman

Progression Award
Reece Carter