Award Crest
York College

Software Developers build and test simple, high-quality code across front end, logic and database layers. They typically work as part of a team, in which they’ll be responsible for elements of an overall project. They are able to interpret design documentation and specifications.

The Software Developer standard has been developed for employers with IT job roles such as:

  • Web Developer
  • Application Developer
  • Games Developer
  • Real-Time Systems Developer

Qualifications and End-Point Assessment Information:

Apprentices must achieve one internationally recognised vendor or professional qualification, from the right-hand column in the table below. This then exempts one of the Ofqual-regulated knowledge modules, as shown in the left-hand column.


Knowledfe Module Vendor or Professional Qualifications
Knowledge Module 1: Software
Development Methodologies (for Level 4
Software Development Apprenticeship)
BCS Systems Development Essentials
Knowledge Module 2: Software Language
(for Level 4 Software Developer

loud certified developer apache
Hadoop C++
Oracle SQL Developer
Oracle Java Certified
MTA/MCP programming in HTML5 with Javascript
and CSS3

End point assessment will be carried out by the British Computer Society (BCS) and is likely to include a synoptic project, summative portfolio and an interview which will be marked holistically by the Independent Assessor with a grade of Pass, Merit or Distinction.

The decision as to when an Apprentice is ready to cross the threshold from Learning and Formative Assessment to the End-Assessment will be made by the Employer and Training Provider based on their monitoring of an Apprentice’s progress. Before the Apprentice takes the End-Assessment they must have successfully completed all of the knowledge modules (including the relevant industry certification) and satisfied the on-the-job practical and behaviour standards.

Method(s) of delivery

The knowledge modules will be delivered through blended learning with taught sessions being delivered at York College for the chosen knowledge units. These are supported by additional learning resources through our VLE. Students will benefit from access to our level 4 HE provision and all of the resources that provides including, fully equipped IT classroom with a wide range of software, use of the Learning Resource Centre which includes a wide range of text books and journals and the use of our HE Hub.

To cover the requirements of the knowledge modules and properly prepare students for end point assessment they will complete the following qualifications:

  • BCS Level 4 Diploma in Software Development Methodologies
  • BCS Level 4 Diploma in Software Languages

Where possible, vendor units will also be delivered at York College but where this is not possible external training agencies will be used.

Entry criteria

Individual employers will set the selection criteria, but this is likely to include A levels; a level 3 apprenticeship or other relevant qualification; relevant experience and/or an aptitude test with a focus on functional maths.


24 Months

What next?

This apprenticeship is recognised for entry onto the register of IT technicians confirming SFIA Level 3 professional competence and those completing the apprenticeship are eligible to apply for registration. Progression routes may be available onto Level 5 apprenticeship programmes.

York College, graded Outstanding by OFSTED, is ideally placed to support both Apprentices and businesses to successfully engage with and benefit from Apprenticeships.

To find out more about how to become and Apprentice or how to recruit an Apprentice into your business please contact York Business Development Unit:

Tel: 01904 770368

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Course Enquiry

Please type your full name.
Invalid email address.
Please tell us about your enquiry