This Level 3 apprenticeship is typically 12 months in duration and has been designed by employers. It is suitable for those employers looking to recruit and train people to provide technical support to internal and external customers, and will help them to be productive in their use of technology required for their role.

Job roles include:

Qualifications and End-Point Assessment Information

Apprentices must achieve one internationally recognised vendor or professional qualification, from the right hand column in the table below. This then exempts one of the Ofqual-regulated knowledge modules, as shown in the left hand column.

Knowledge Module

Knowledge Module 1: Networking and Architecture (for Level 3 Infrastructure Technician Apprenticeships)

Knowledge Module 2: Mobile and Operating Systems (for Level 3 Infrastructure Technician Apprenticeships)

Knowledge Module 3: Cloud Services (for Level 3 Infrastructure Technician Apprenticeships)

Knowledge Module 4: Coding and Logic (for Level 3 Infrastructure Technician Apprenticeships)

Knowledge Module 5: Business Processes (for Level 3 Infrastructure Technician Apprenticeships)

End-point assessment will be carried out by the British Computer Society (BCS) and is likely to include a synoptic project, summative portfolio and an interview which will be marked holistically by the Independent Assessor with a grade of Pass, Merit or Distinction.

The decision as to when an Apprentice is ready to cross the threshold from Learning and Formative Assessment to the End-point Assessment will be made by the Employer and Training Provider based on their monitoring of an apprentice’s progress. Before the apprentice takes the End-point Assessment they must have successfully completed all of the knowledge modules (including the relevant industry certification) and satisfied the on-the-job practical and behavioural standards.

Method(s) of delivery

The knowledge modules will be delivered through blended learning with taught sessions being delivered at York College for the chosen knowledge units. These are supported by additional learning resources through our VLE. To cover the requirements of the knowledge modules and properly prepare students for end-point assessment they will complete the following qualifications:

Where possible, vendor units will also be delivered at York College but where this is not possible external training agencies will be used.

Entry criteria

Individual employers will set the selection criteria, but this is likely to include five GCSEs, (especially English, Mathematics and a Science or Technology subject); a relevant Level 2 Apprenticeship; other relevant qualifications and experience; or an aptitude test with a focus on IT skills.


15 Months.

What next?

This apprenticeship is recognised for entry onto the register of IT technicians confirming SFIA level 3 professional competence and those completing the apprenticeship are eligible to apply for registration.

Progression routes may be available onto BCS Level 4 Network Engineer Apprenticeship.