York College

News Banner 1

News Banner 2

30th April 2019

The York College Construction Awards 2019, based on the theme ‘Developing our Students, Growing your Business’, recognised the talents of individual students and apprentices studying Carpentry and Joinery, Brickwork, Stonemasonry, Professional and Technical Studies, Electrical, Painting & Decorating and Plumbing. 

Construction Awards group shot

Businesses from the region’s construction industry sponsored many of the sixty awards presented at the special ceremony, held in the atrium at York College.

A formal welcome by College Principal, Dr Alison Birkinshaw, was followed by the presentation of awards by special guest Chris Birch, Chair of William Birch and Sons - a company with a long and impressive record of building construction, refurbishment and restoration work in the region. Rob Holmes, Head of Division for Construction at York College brought the evening to a close with a Vote of Thanks.

Special Awards were presented to the following students:
• York Guild of Building Silver Medal for Excellence in Stonemasonry – Lewis Morrison
• York Guild of Building Bronze Medal for Excellence in Stonemasonry – Sean Henderson
• Construction Industry Council Yorkshire & Humberside Award – Zachery Gorley
• Kevin Clancy Building Award – Oliver Ward
• York Consortium for Conservation and Craftsmanship Award – Timothy Thwaite
• Worshipful Company of Masons’ Award – Sam Brooks

Rob Holmes, Head of Division for Construction at York College said: "These annual Awards are a wonderful way to celebrate the skills of our construction students and apprentices. The winners are individually recognised for their hard work, commitment and dedication to their studies and they are the future of the construction industry - we are extremely proud of their achievements. I also want to pay tribute to the many local, regional and national employers who continue to support the Construction Division at the College and ensure that we can provide the industry with work-ready individuals as we help to grow the construction businesses in our region and beyond.”


York College Construction AwardsWEB

Construction Award Winners 2019

Samuel Mayhew  - Jack Birch Prize

Ryan Wales - Mitchell & Urwin Award

Patrick McBride - GEM Construction Award

Miles Baker - York College Tutors Award

Cameron Boardman - National Federation of Builders (BEC) Shield

James Farrow - York Handmade Brick Company Award

Lewis Craven - York College Tutors Award

Ewan Rookes - Portakabin Award

Callum Sissons - Houghtons of York Craftsmanship Award

Lewis Carter - National Federation of Builders (BEC) Shield

Benjamin Horner - Clive Walker Shield

Carl Scaife - Yorkshire Housing Award

Lily Fairbank-Taylor - York College Tutors Award

Kieran Gordon - Persimmon Homes Award

Ethan Lewis - Trustspan Award

Joshua Craven  - Tom Rhodes & Sons Award

Brandon Halliwell - City & Guilds Trophy

Lucan Wright - Freemasons Charity Yorkshire North and East Ridings Award

James Digger - Peter Moore Masonry Award

James Digger - Historic Property Restoration Ltd Award

William Hague - York Minster Award

Alexander Adams - Andrew Gomersall Prize

Rachael Wragg - York College Tutors Award

Jay De-Martine Memorial Award

Carl James - Watermark Award

Liam Brooks - Yorkshire Water Prize

Dean Wardell - Peglar Yorkshire Award

Liam Dalby - Peglar Yorkshire Award

Ripley Clements - Ceejays Award

Alan Brooks - Aqualisa Award

Charles Buckle - Painting & Decorating Association Award

Joshua Loveley - Alfred Bagnall Award

Mohammad Alitha - York College Tutors Award

Gemma Hardy - Painting & Decorating Association Shield

Thomas Scaife - Novus Property Solutions Shield

Michael White - York College Tutors Award

Carl Moffatt - Travis Perkins Award

Aaron Garnett - Edmundson Electrical Award

Adam Cooper - City Electrical Factors Award

George Booth - York College Tutors Award

Ross Wilcox - York College Tutors Award

Dorothy Fenwick - YESSS Electrical Award

George Stoker - Riccall Regen Achievement Award

Johnathan Iveson - York College Tutors Award

Harvey Taylor - Glentrool Award

Lewis Deighton - Norman Lilley Memorial Trust Award

Felix Orchard - Wildgoose Construction Award

Lorna Howard - CIOB Brian Randall Memorial Award

Anthony Stephenson - Wildgoose Construction Award

Thomas Hogg - York College Tutors Award

Sophie Riley - Chartered Institute of Building Shield

Timothy Stead - National Federation of Builders (BEC) Troph

yLaura Speakman - Wildgoose Construction Award

Jordan Tate - York College Tutors Award

Oliver Warnes - LHL Group Award

Lewis Morrison - York Guild of Builders

Sean Henderson - York Guild of Builders

Timothy Thwaite - York Consortium For Conservation & Craftsmanship Award

Oliver Ward - Kevin Clancy Building Award for tenacity, dedication and attainment in learning

Zachary Gorley - Construction Industry Council Yorkshire & Humberside Award

Sam Brooks - Worshipful Company of Masons' Prize







Current Term's News

Need Help?