York College

News Banner 1

News Banner 2

18th April 2016

The York College Construction Awards, based on the theme ‘Building the Future, Restoring the Past’ honoured students and apprentices at York College for achieving excellence in Carpentry and Joinery, Brickwork, Plastering, Stonemasonry, Professional and Technical Studies, Electrical, Painting & Decorating and Plumbing.

Construction Awards 2016WEB

In the College’s new £6 million Construction Skills Centre, recently opened by Skills Minister Nick Boles, students and apprentices were presented with more than 60 individual awards and trophies, sponsored by many of the region’s industry employers.

There was a formal welcome by the Principal of York College, Dr Alison Birkinshaw, followed by the presentation of awards by Jack Commandeur, Governor and Chief Operating Officer at Hitachi Rail Europe. David Johnson, Vice Chair of Governors at York College gave a Vote of Thanks.

Kevin Clancy, Head of Division for Construction at York College said: "We are grateful to our construction industry sponsors for their continued support of these annual awards. There continues to be a high demand for construction skills in this country and at York College we deliver high quality training across all the construction crafts. This glittering occasion recognises the achievements of our talented students. They are the industry professionals of the future and they also have the vital skills needed to restore our building heritage.”

 The Award Winners: 


Charles Young*  - JP Birch Prize
Callum Allanson*  - Mitchell & Urwin Award
Thomas MacDonald*  - GEM Construction Award
Harry Wragg  - Bluebird Fixings Award
Lyall Goscinski*  - National Federation of Builders (BEC) Shield
Michael Binnington  - York Handmade Brick Company Award


Carpentry and Joinery

Jake Heels*  - Portakabin Award
Becky Johnson - Houghtons of York Craftsmanship Award
Jake Green*  - National Federation of Builders (BEC) Shield
Joshua Adger  - Clive Walker Shield
Thomas Pavis  - Yorkshire Housing Award
Thomas Smith  - York College Tutors Award
Peter Wright  - Persimmon Homes Award
Stephen Boyes  - Trustspan Award
Louis Faithfull - Howdens Joinery Company Award



Josh Tindall*  - City & Guilds Trophy
Steven Jones*  - Provincial Grand Charity of the Freemasons of Yorkshire North and East Ridings Stonemasonry Bursary
Tom Cloake  - Peter Moore Masonry Award
Sean Roberts  - Historic Property Restoration Ltd Award
Lewis Morrison  - York Minster Award
Alex Hume - York College Tutors Award (Jay De-Martine Memorial Award)



Angela Johnson  - Watermark Award
Matthew Addison -  Watermark Special Award
Matthew Holme -  Watermark Special Award
George Andrews - Watermark Special Award
Jack Galvin - Watermark Special Award
Nick Leedham -  Watermark Special Award
Bridie Murray - Watermark Special Award
Cameron Edkins -  Peglar Yorkshire Award
Joseph Butler  - Peglar Yorkshire Award
Noel Minikin  - Ceejay Award
Charles Lawton -  York College Tutors Award


Painting & Decorating

Edwin Kay*  - Painting & Decorating Association Award
Joshua Nicholson  - Alfred Bagnall Trophy
Michael Leaf*  - National Federation of Builders (BEC) Trophy
Harry Quinn - Painting & Decorating Association Shield
Shona Snowden  - Novus Property Solutions Shield



Stuart Rose Steinel  - UK Award
Tom Leighton -  Travis Perkins Award
Stuart Hubbert -  Edmundson Electrical Award
Jack Holt City  - Electrical Factors Award
Ian Fraser -  Steinel UK Award
Martyn Allison  - York College Tutors Award
Anthony Addison  - YESSS Electrical Award



Samuel Armstrong -  Celotex Award
Alfred Smith -  Tom Rhodes & Sons Award


Fresh Start

Colin Dunnigan -  Riccall Regen Achievement Award


Professional and Technical

David Chamberlain -  York College Tutors Award
Bethan Harrison-Wright  - Glentrool Award
Harry Groom -  Norman Lilley Memorial Trust Award
Kieran Bond - Wildgoose Construction Award
Joshua Smith -  CIOB Brian Randall Memorial Award
James Quick -  Wildgoose Construction Award
Matthew Simpson -  York College Tutors Award
Grace Flannery -  Chartered Institute of Building Shield
Matthew Mellor  - National Federation of Builders (BEC) Trophy
Samuel Wright  - Wildgoose Construction Award
Alex Wilford -  Federation of Master Builders Award
Bradley Roberts -  LHL Group Award


Medals For Excellence

Ruth Barnes -  Bronze Medal for Excellence in electrial installation
Steven Mann -  Silver Medal for Excellence in stone masonry
Christopher Traves* -  York Consortium For Conservation & Craftsmanship Award
Thomas MacDonald* -  The UCATT Apprenctice of the Year
Jack Hindmarch -  Worshipful Company of Masons' Prize



Scott Naylor -  Danesgate Skills Centre Award


• Apprentices managed by Cskills Awards




Current Term's News

Need Help?