York College

News Banner 1

News Banner 2

15th December 2015

The York College A Level Faculty hosted its annual A Level Awards Evening at the National Centre for Early Music in York. The special occasion recognised students who excelled in their A Level studies this year.

A Level Awards 2015 GroupWEB

Glyn Jones, Assistant Principal for A Levels, welcomed students and their families and York College Deputy Principal Graeme Murdoch gave an introductory speech.

There was an address by guest speaker Nick Martlew, UK Director for Crisis Action; an international organisation that works behind the scenes, building coalitions to influence those with power to protect civilians in armed conflict. Nick studied A Levels at York College (1999-2001) and progressed to Oxford University where he gained a First Class degree in Politics, Philosophy and Economics.

The York College String Quartet, and former student Mark Leighton, recipient of the Performer of the Year Award, provided a musical interlude. The Vote of Thanks was given by Shirley Collier, Chair of Governors at York College.

Glyn Jones, Assistant Principal for A Levels said: “We are proud to have so many hardworking and talented students who have done so well and who are such excellent role models for younger students. We had particular difficulty deciding on many of the winners this year as competition was especially fierce. It is great to celebrate their achievement alongside their parents, teachers and representatives of their former schools.”

Student of the Year Awards:

English Language: Beth Hickey

English Literature: Rachael Hodgson

Languages: Vicky Howdle

Film Studies: Ami Payne

Media Studies: Natalie Suchecki

History: Harry Wilkinson

Law: Fran Glancy

Politics: Josh Foskett

Psychology: Katie Hugill

Religious Studies: Xanthe Davison

Business/ Economics: Charlotte Carr

Maths: Rob Shipley

Further Mathematics: Jonny Atkinson

Physics: Jack Dowell

Most Improved Student: George Hill

Mature Student of the Year: Luca Wollny

Performer of the Year: Mark Leighton

Biology: Adam Saun

Chemistry: Maya White

Earth Science: Heather Tippin

Engineering & Design: Calum Finn

Physical Education: Jack Wainwright

Art & Design: Seren Metcalfe

Sociology: Ebony Wray

IT & Computing: Antony McDonagh

EPQ (Dissertation): Amy Hutchinson

EPQ (Artefact): Alec Aarons

Best Contribution to College Life: Jake Wood & Connor Colvin

Head of Studies: Zaide O'Rourke

Governors’ Prize: Ruben Turkenburg

Principal’s Prize: Amy-May Dicks

Student of the Year 2015: Ben Lister


Related Link

A Level Faculty

Current Term's News

Need Help?