Award Crest
York College

News Banner 1

News Banner 2

To celebrate National Apprenticeship Week (9th – 13th March) York College is busy liaising with employers to ensure students receive the best options.

Lisa Rowntree, Head of Division for Engineering at York College visited Nestle in York to shadow Engineering apprentice Sara Barker.

Lisa-Nestle-1-web

Sara is in the final year of her apprenticeship, studying Engineering at York College. She has been offered a place to study a degree from September in manufacturing and engineering. She says: "I grew up on a farm and have always played with engines and machines. It was something I wanted to do but didn't consider it as a career. At school I was a grade A student and was advised to take A levels which I did and didn't enjoy. Schools generally don't give high achieving students the option to do an apprenticeship, only offering them to lower achieving students, that's not how it should be. If I knew about this when I was 16 I would have come straight here. I now have the chance to study an engineering degree!"

Said Lisa Rowntree, Head of Division for Engineering: "Being involved with the Nestle production process was an absolute pleasure. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the work apprentices are involved with. It was a valuable experience that was superbly organised and I learnt so much!"

Nestle apprentices have their studies funded by the company, as well as receiving a wage, finishing with a recognised qualification and no student debt. When 21-year-old Sara secured her engineering apprenticeship at Nestle she was one of only two successful candidates from more than 200 applicants.

Steve Colquhoun, Apprentice Training Co-ordinator at Nestle in York, said: "We have launched a scheme where we take our apprentices through four different departments through a two-year scheme. They come out as well-rounded plant operator with good skills."